ENJOYING LIFE AT THE SPEED OF A TRIKE


trikes stopped along beach

Is life flashing past you? Maybe you need to slow up and enjoy life at the speed of a tadpole trike. I find it most rewarding and rejuvenating. God has said in His written word (the Holy Scriptures, the bible) that our life is like a vapor … here today, gone tomorrow. That certainly is true and the older we get the more we seem to notice it and agree with it. We eventually get to a point where we say to ourselves (and perhaps to others) … “where did our lives go? It seems like it was only a few years ago I was young and vibrant … able to do things I can no longer do … and remembering lots of differnet things in our past. There is nothing wrong with being busy just so we aren’t too busy. Being busy is better than being lazy and unproductive. Still though balance is needed in all things.

trikes stopped during group ride

One of the great benefits of riding a tadpole trike over a bicycle is the ability to somewhat safely “take in” more of our surroundings from our perch on the seat. Of course, like anything else there is a time we can do so and a time we need to pay full attention to our riding … for safety’s sake … ours as well as others.

Trike Hobo

Many of us know who this guy is. He refers to himself as “trike hobo”. That is somewhat fitting as one of the meanings of hobo is a carefree wanderer. I am sure he would readily testify as to the enjoyment he has experienced while riding his trikes.

tadpole trike pulling train

If you are a person who tends to speed along as fast as you can go maybe you need to hook up to something to slow you down like this triker did. (No, he isn’t really hooked up to the railroad car.)

So whether you are an international triker, a national triker, a regional triker or a local area triker like me by all means take advantage of the time spent in the saddle and enjoy all that you can each and every time you are out. Yes, enjoy life at the speed of a tadpole trike. And  do all that you can to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on July 6, 2016, in riding, tadpole riders, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I applaud the notion of slowing one’s lifestyle, but that doesn’t require traveling slow. If you like riding fast, a trike will go fast. And the stability of a well-designed trike will give you a leg up if you’re in no hurry to test Steve’s theories on eternity during a high-speed cruise or while bombing down a hill. Riding a trike doesn’t relegate you to the slow lane.

    • Certainly a tadpole trike, if designed well, is capable of traveling at a pretty good speed. I never said otherwise. But the faster we go the less we can take in around us. People can do whatever they want to do.

  2. Steve, what tadpole do you ride?

  3. I ride a 2013 Catrike Trail. Why do you ask?

  4. I’m looking for ideas of what to purchase. I test rode a Catrike trail a few weeks ago and loved it. I’ve been a triangle rider my whole life. I put roughly a 100 miles a week on my bike, but have been sidelined for a few months with a bad elbow. The weight bearing on my shoulders and elbows is starting to take it’s toll. I live near Madison , WI and there’s a very nice recumbent shop that sells most brands. As soon as my elbow (surgery) allows me to go test ride some again , I hope to bring one home. A buddy I teach with just bought an Ice adventure, or some such model, and that is one I also took for a spin.

    Thx again for your help and keep on writing and riding!

  5. doblemaduro, I ride an ICE Adventure and Sprint and consider them, along with Catrike and several other makes, to be excellent. As Steve has said (I’m paraphrasing here), test ride as many as you can and pick one that best fits your budget and sensibilities. When you consider the advantages of a recumbent trike compared with the “conventional wisdom”, I don’t think you can go wrong.