WHO’S FOOLING WHO?


Many of us know the popular commercial where we hear the words “It’s not nice to fool mother nature!” Well, I am here to tell you that it works both ways. It is not nice for mother nature to fool us. Of course, sometimes it is a case of “mine eyes deceiveth me”.

sun rays shining down thru tree foliage 3 marked

While riding along a trail I frequently see “something” up ahead which from a distance appears to be another person. As I get closer I discover that it was not another person at all, but rather it was a tree, a bush or a sign of some sort … something other than what it first appeared as from a distance. Often times there was sun shining on it … a matter of the sun managing to find its way down thru the tree foliage and illuminating just a small area in the midst of an otherwise dark shaded area. I also see what appears to be litter along the trail which I am prepared to pick up to properly dispose of it. As I get closer I discover it is only a leaf that the sun is shining on which makes it stand out and take on the appearance of man made material … litter … out there on or alongside of the trail. It is not such a big deal except sometimes I have slowed way down to retrieve it only to find out it was for nothing and I have to expend all the effort to get going again and back up to speed. Another thing that happens frequently is seeing a bright green or yellowish color in an otherwise dark shaded area. I am thinking it is another person wearing one of the safety florescent colored shirts or jackets. But no, it turns out to be sunlight striking some green vegetation and once again fooling me.

sun rays shining down thru tree foliage marked

Yep, I find that mother nature likes to play tricks on me. Oh well, I guess it adds to the riding enjoyment while out there. One thing for sure … I am not going to let it keep me from …

KEEPING ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on August 2, 2016, in misc., riding, tadpole trikes, trails and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. As you all know, I was in a severe accident some time back, and one of the many gifts I have received from my accident was head trauma which caused me some vision loss, or cause shadows within my field of vision.. Well anyway, out of the corner of my eye I sometimes vision or experience a shadow which will bring me reeling around believing that it’s coming towards me… And a lot of times it is enough to scare the bejesus out of me…! It is something I still do battle with time again, and is reason I don’t get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle anymore .. I just don’t want to take the chance of almost, or killing someone..! It’s a problem sometimes on my ride, but I have more time to react, and get a hold of my wits enough to differentiate between reality and illision, or shadows…! But as for the topic of todays posting, I have experianced those aberitions in my younger life, and it’s called mescqline or THC flashbacks… Lmao…!
    Armadillo Zack

  2. Steve: Great post with great photos. And, yes: your experience is mine as well. Even AFTER cataract surgery. 😉

  3. I’ve had similar experiences to Steve. Vision, as one gets older, can play a few tricks on you. When younger with both eyes working and 20/20 eye sight the visual illusions were much less frequent. Still love riding, though, and will keep on triking.
    D.B. 87 yrs. old.