CHAINRING GUARDS


Hopefully you have never had the experience of encountering the big bad teeth of your largest chainring. I am here to tell you that our skin is no match for such an encounter. More than once over the many years of my life I have come out on the losing end. Not only was it painful and sore for some time, but it sometimes got infected and I had to take antibiotics to combat it. If we are fortunate we only get the infamous chainring tattoo.

chainring tattoo cropped

But if we are not so fortunate we might experience the wrath of those teeth.

chainring-teeth

Can you say OUCH?

chainring wounds

It happens all too easily and without protection we are readily its victim. Even if it doesn’t result in penetrating our skin it can really mess up clothing with a nasty oily dirty stain that is hard to remove. Of course, in warm/hot weather most of us are wearing shorts so there is no clothing covering our legs to help protect us. Even when we do have such clothing on unless it is some very tough material like blue jeans it is no match for those big teeth. Even with blue jeans those teeth can get our attention and cause pain and suffering. And we only have ourselves to sue! Oh my! 🙂

CHAINRING GUARDS TO THE RESCUE!

Catrike Chain Guard

ICE chainring guard

As far as I am concerned they are one of the very best investments we can make for our trikes. I bought one several years ago and it has quite literally saved my hide several times since. On rare occasion I still manage to get a little bit of a tattoo although even those are much lesser than they were without a chainring guard.

My advice to you is don’t wait until you experience those nasty teeth in your flesh. Invest in a chainring guard soon. Don’t procrastinate. It is no fun getting bit by those big teeth. It will help you to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

without concern of this calamity. An ounce of prevention is still worth a pound of cure.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on September 2, 2016, in accessories, safety, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. It’s as simple as could be, if it’s worth protecting then protect it. Much better than hoping nothing serious will happen. Those steel teeth can take a pretty good bite.

  2. I’m a big fan of chainring guards. For protection, but more importantly to keep the chain from dropping off of my single chainring. Here’s an example of using two chainring guards for this purpose:
    https://seasonalcommute.com/2016/06/19/chain-drop-and-other-irritations/

  3. Man that was a nasty bite taken out of that leg, just goes to show how important those chain guards really are…! I always thought it was something that could be left off to save excessive weight in the past until I had a bad accident one day while approaching a hill up north, and caused me to have a few stitches put in.. I returned the chain guard right back to avoid further trips to the hospital… Lesson learned…!
    Armadillo Zack

  4. So of course, the BIG question here is: Why don’t trike companies all include such a basic necessity as standard with their trikes??! My Catrike 700 came stock with a beautiful chain guard. My ICE Qnt did not – I had to invest extra money to get one. I suspect most companies do not include them in order to maximize their profits per sale – if the customer is left to purchase numerous extra items, that’s even more money for the manufacturer! My hat is off to Catrike for including chain guards as standard equipment (I assume they still do). ICE might take a lesson from Catrike on this one (and, ICE might take another lesson with the design of Catrike’s chain guard, because the minimal ICE guard is only a partial guard with large gaps that still allow chain lube on the pants or painful gouges in the skin – Catrike really nailed the design perfectly!). Kudos to Catrike! Back to the drawing board to ICE.

    • I agree. All trike and bicycle manufacturers should include a chainring guard. Catrike didn’t always. I had to buy mine. They later went with the same one I bought for mine and started installing them on all new trikes. I have a friend who bought one which has Catrike on it and installed it on his HP Velotechnik trike. I told him it gave his HP some class. 🙂

    • Yes they still provide a ring guard with their trikes Hobo Steve, And a pretty good one I might add, as well…! Now I’m not sure of this but I have heard that some trike distributors are not adding them when they are being assembled at their shops, now I do not know if this is true but I have thought that ICE did include a chain ring guard with their trikes as I know of a few people who have bought the ICE trike in several different models, and I have never heard any of them complain that they have not received a chain ring guard as these are all avid trikkers, and have been riding for a long time as well, and would realize the importents of riding with a chain ring guard….! I will just have to ask to be sure though…!

  5. My family has purchased five ICE trikes since 2008 including my 2016 Sprint, none came stock with chainring guards. I’m not a fan of their “cage” guard anyway. Another nice touch with Cattrike is the inclusion of a high quality, toothed Terracycle idler. That’s my first upgrade to an ICE trike, making an expensive trike even more expensive. ICE engineering and build quality is generally excellent but they’re certainly not the value leaders in trikes.

  6. After seeing this come to question again I went down the road over to the dunes to watch some riders, ride the trail area, and ask about this debated question of with or with out, and I got from 4 of the seven riders there, that 3 of them have received their rides with, but bought their ride direct from ICE dealers overseas as from what I could understand as they are French Canadian and very thick accents, The fourth also Canadian but speaks perfect English said without, the other folks there were riding Hp, and Catrikes, so I didn’t bother asking…! So I would think that for some reason or another US customers don’t receive chain guards… Sorry that’s the best answer I got from them…!

    • If you “build a trike” on the ICE web site, I’m pretty sure you won’t get a chairing guard unless you explicitly add it, which increases the cost. I suppose a dealer could add this without being asked, but I’m guessing the customer would still pay extra for it. I’d be unhappy with a dealer who did this to me, as I don’t use ICE’s chainring guard. I think ICE’s opt-in approach to accessories is a good one. It’s the dealer’s (or customer’s if DIY) responsibility to educate the customer on the value of a chainring guard.

  7. As I have never bought a ICE myself I don’t know what the real story is, so I’ll take your word for it…!
    Armadillo Zack

  8. Katherine Lizotte

    I recently purchased an HP Velotechnik Gekko FX 20 here in the States through a dealer. It did not come with a guard so I’ve had to order one from Germany thru the same dealer. I’m picking it up on Friday; fingers crossed it fits and all that. Am annoyed it did not come standard with the trike since the HP advertising literature all shows the trike with guards and does not offer them when customizing the trike online. Weird.