PEDALING WITH KNEE PAIN


As many of you know I am in the slow painful process of recovering from total knee joint replacement. I am 4 weeks post surgery as I type this. All in all I am doing very good. I was walking without a walker in just 2 weeks time. I was driving motor vehicles in 3 weeks time. One thing I have been aware of and have even written about before is the use of shorter crankarms. One of the options to this is crankarm shorteners which bolt onto your existing crankarms. They make really good sense to me as they offer various length settings. With this you can change from one setting to another as needed and as your range of motion improves. And if you ever get back to where you no longer need them you simply uninstall them and go back to your original crankarms.

I am currently going thru rehab therapy and sometimes ride a stationary recumbent exercise bike. The rehab facility has two of these bikes, but I can only ride one of them. I looked at both of them and noticed that the difference is the length of the crankarms. The one I can ride has adjustable crankarms and it is setup with shortest available length. I pedaled it yesterday at 100 rpm for a short time. It felt really good to pedal it. Interestingly the physical therapists told me that very rarely can any knee joint replacement patient ride the other bike.

So anyway I plan on buying a set of crankarm shorteners to help me pedal. Hey, if you have knee joint issues and limited range of motion using shorter crankarms might be “just what the doctor ordered” for you. They are not cheap however. I was surprised and disappointed when I looked them up online. The best price I was able to find was about $115 with shipping thru Amazon. They are a different brand than the ones in this video. (I have noticed that the prices seem to change almost daily. The best deals I have found are usually on Ebay.) I had not yet come across these Ortho Pedals which sell for $89 each or $149 per set. Most of the ones I found were far more expensive … $130 and up. Ortho Pedal’s FAQ. Ortho Pedal’s warranty.

BTW, my second knee joint replacement is scheduled for Nov. 10th … just two weeks away. Oh boy! I am hoping to be burning up the asphalt come next spring.  Don’t get in my way! 🙂

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on October 21, 2016, in accessories, options, rehabilitation, riding, tadpole trikes, videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey Steve, one of the answers to your pain problem may be an electric assist. BioneX worked great for me when my knee started to work less than well. It’s like the whole trike became lighter. Marvelous feeling, acceleration & up hills seemed much more like they used to when I rode a two wheeler. It extends your life as a rider by a number of years. There are four of us living here that have electric assist, all of us over 87. One still gets their exercise but it allows for more time in the saddle without getting totally pooped out.

  2. Steve, glad to hear you’re on the mend. Over the years I’ve alternated between short-ish (152mm) cranks and, out of laziness, whatever happened to come with my trike (170+ mm). While spec’ing my current trike, I re-learned how difficult/expensive it is to find decent short cranks. Problem solved when I finally settled on Schlumpf, who offer 152mm cranks. I can’t say I’ve noticed a huge difference between 152 and 170mm, which is a pretty good argument in favor of shorter cranks. They haven’t slowed me down a bit, and I’m certain they’re easier on my knees even if I don’t notice it right now.

    I don’t know if this is a trend, but the new ICE web site offers an option for 152mm cranks on a triple. Good for us short people (I’m about 5′ 8″).