IMPROVISING IN ORDER TO PEDAL AFTER KNEE JOINT REPLACEMENT


recumbent-bike-on-indoor-trainer

It may not be a tadpole trike, but it is a recumbent and for now I am using it as part of my “rehab” after total knee joint replacement. It is said that pedaling is one of the very best things one can do for recovering from total knee joint replacement. However, just getting on and off of it is a bit challenging … getting my leg up and over the frame … more so than pedaling it. I am managing it though. Once I have myself straddling the frame I am “in like Flint”.  That being said, in order to pedal I need to place my heel of my foot on the pedal so that I am moving my knee thru a smaller circle. I am slowly inching my foot backwards on the pedal as I spend time pedaling, but I only have to move it a short distance before I start “feeling” the discomfort it brings on.

The recumbent stationary bike in the  rehab facility where I go is set up with the crank arms quite short and I can spin them easily … even at 100 rpm cadence. I usually only ride my tadpole trike at about 60 rpm. I really need the crankarm shorteners, but alas, my wife says no as she doesn’t want me to spend the money right now. So I am improvising by placing my heel on the pedal. Of course, when I get the other knee joint replaced in two weeks without the crankarm shorteners I will have to place both heels on the pedals. BTW, one might think that pedaling with one foot properly placed with the ball of the foot on the pedal while the other foot has the heel on the pedal would be awkward and weird, but actually it is not a problem at all. It feels rather normal and natural to me. Of course, I would much prefer to pedal with both of my feet positioned normally.

heel-on-pedal-2

Hmmm, maybe I can sell something to get the money to buy the crankarm shorteners. They would be the “cat’s meow”. (For those who don’t understand that term here is a definition/explanation: “The cat’s meow” is an expression referring to something that is considered outstanding.”) I am not a fan of pedaling with my heels, but a guy’s gotta do what a guy’s gotta do.

short-crankarms-2

Yep, you are looking at the cat’s meow!

While others …  KEEP ON TRIKIN’  I just want to … KEEP ON PEDALIN’ … until I can join you.  🙂

10/28/2016 Update: I have been able to slowly work at sliding my foot back on the pedal and continue to pedal until I was able to place my foot the same as my other foot. However, every time I get on the bike I have to start all over with my heel on the pedal. At least this progress is encouraging even if it doesn’t last at this point in time. BTW, I am now able to get on and off of the bike much easier that I could at first.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on October 27, 2016, in misc., rehabilitation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Steve, I look forward to your new articles in your blog each week and thank you for sharing your t houghts, ideas and experiences.
    I also feel your pain and I hope your rehab on two knees is less painful than anticipated. Cudos to you for sharing and improvising.
    I did see a crank shortener on the Dutch Bike Bits website for 12 Euros. However, you would need to check if it fits your cranks.
    Sometimes have to ride with my right heel on the pedal due to restricted knee bend. Usually on an upright exercise bike. I remember once taping some plywood board above the pedal to give my foot some stability and to stop it flying off the pedal. If I wanted something more permanent I could have screwed an aluminium plate onto the pedal. Good luck with your rehab and the next knee replacement. Cheers Brad

  2. Cat’s meow – surely it has something to do with Catrike? I’ve heard a lot of Catrike riders meowing out on the open road – must like the brand.

  3. And even on the trails. They are just well content. I really do understand it. MEOWWW