SLOWING DOWN IN MY OLD AGE


I have noticed that as I am getting older I am slowing up some. I don’t ride as fast as I used to  … nor as far as I used to … nor as long as I used to. In short, I just seem to be slowing down in my old age. Several others I have talked to have told me the same thing is happening to them. These bodies just seem to slowing down and no longer able to perform as they did years ago. I reckon that is just part of life. Speaking of slowing down …

heads-up

Just a heads up … I have made the decision to make a change on this blog. I am not going to commit to posting new articles twice weekly like I have been doing. Instead I am simply going to post new articles “whenever I feel like it”. I am sorry to disappoint some of you, but it is either this or quit altogether. I almost did that as I just feel “burnt out” and wanting to quit. For now though I am going to continue on. I just am not going to put myself under pressure to produce new postings on a regular basis. I thank those who have been faithful readers of this blog. I appreciate you. Who knows, I may be back stronger than ever. I just don’t know the future at this point in time. I do not plan on deleting the blog like I did once before. It will remain up and available. I have made some changes. I no longer am advertising used trikes for sale for people. I have removed the ads which were posted. Sorry about that if one of them was yours. I just decided that I no longer want to be involved in it.

slowing-down

As most of you know I am undergoing total knee joint replacement and recovering from that. My right knee is completed and my left knee will be done soon. By the time this posts I will be about 8 days post surgery for the left one. It is not pleasant to go thru and makes it even harder to remain actively involved on this blog.

Some of you may have noticed that I have not been active on any of the Facebook recumbent trike groups for a few weeks now. That is because I withdrew my membership from all of them … quit “cold turkey”. And I don’t miss them at all. I am glad I finally made that decision and did it.

I am finding it harder and harder to come up with stuff to write about. Of course, I would guess that lack of motivation is as big of a factor as anything. That may or may not change as time goes along. I would rather be upfront and totally transparent with you that try to continue on without saying anything. Thanks for understanding.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on November 15, 2016, in tadpole trikes, tadpolerider blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good luck!

  2. Steve,
    Would it be appropriate for viewers to pass along links to triking stuff for you to peruse and add to your blog if you deemed it interesting? Sure have enjoyed reading your stuff. Hope the recovery goes well. My wife did both knees a couple of years ago and the therapy was tiresome, but necessary. We both lost weight. The pain meds affected her sense of taste and my culinary skills are limited. Anyway good luck and keep on triking.

  3. Steve .. we are all slowing down.. and that is a fact of life .. Get thru the knee thing and do What you can do and what you want to… God bless you for your FB ect.. I enjoyed and learned a lot from you and them.. I am 69.5 and plan to keep going as long as I can.. But the day s coming lol.. Again Thanks pal….Don aka DynoDon….

  4. Steve: Chalk it up to aging. The knees were just a part of that. At least that’s been my experience. My self-response to one more trip up our local mountain used to be–‘because it’s there.’ Now it’s more likely ‘Why’? And of course that just leads to more slowing down.

  5. Steve: Keep on keeping on at your own pace!
    Don’t worry about a schedule, post what you want when you want.
    Concentrate on getting this knee work behind you and get back in ‘triking’ condition for spring!
    Blog when you feel like it, forget the schedule!
    I am pushing 68 and I think it is more important to ‘wear out’ instead of ‘rust out’!