DO YOU SMELL PAVEMENT BURNING?


Well, I dood it! 2 weeks and 5 days after my 2nd knee joint replacement surgery I rode my tadpole trike on the trail today. I wasn’t exactly burning up the asphalt, but it was good to be out riding. I had to pedal with my heels on the pedals as it was too painful to place my feet normally. I just hope I don’t go thru another session of several days of muscle soreness after riding today. I only rode about 2  1/2 miles and I spent most of it picking up tree limbs and tossing them off of the trail as we had rain and high wind last night which brought a lot of them down.

I wish I could ride my trike into the hospital and to the outpatient rehab room to show the staff there my therapy machine. Everybody is amazed at how well and fast I am progressing. I was walking without a walker one week after surgery. After the staples were taken out of the incision (10 days post surgery) they had me on the recumbent exercise bike and I was able to pedal it normally immediately. With the first knee joint replacement surgery on the other leg I had to take about 6 minutes of rotating the crankset back and forth before I was able to pedal it clear around in full revolution. So things seem to be going better with this 2nd surgery than the first one and everybody thought the first one went pretty well. I give thanks and acknowledgement to the fast healing power of God. I know I have a lot of people around the world who are praying for me. I thank each and every one of them.

Nope, I am not exactly burning up the pavement so I doubt if you smell anything like burning rubber. But hey, this “bionic triker” is  working on …

KEEPING ON TRIKIN’

and I am hopeful that eventually I can come close

setting my tires on fire riding on that asphalt 🙂

(that might be a pipe dream for someone nearly 70 years old)

update: I did not have any soreness after riding so that is good. I sure wish I had the crankarm shorteners so I can change the pedal position. The crankarms on the stationary recumbent exercise bike in rehab has the crankarms set at their shortest setting and I can pedal it fine. I did so today and got up to 100 rpm a couple of times which BTW was about 80 watts of power being used by my body. Most of the time though I pedaled at about 50 rpm. I really enjoy riding the recumbent bike, but they won’t let me ride it very long as they want to get onto the medieval torture they get paid for. 🙂

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on November 29, 2016, in rehabilitation, riding, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Fabulous recovery, Steve…I wish you the best…I know the frustration of not being able to move around as you’d like to…Thanks for all your posts..I read every one of them..I bought the thermos that you use and love it…Merida Munn

  2. Steven Wayne Jackson

    Congratulations on your progress! Keep up the good work!!

  3. Good for you Steve, triking does seem to help lots of people. Keep it up.

  4. That is so great to hear Steve…! I am so happy to hear that you are doing better.. And I understand your pain, as I too went thru a knee surgery… I can’t bring myself to do the other knee no matter how much the doctor says I am in need of it and that the longer I wait the worse it will be latter on… I just did not like that pain what so ever and I had already gone thru so much of it with my 17 spinal, hip, pelvis, scapula, and neck surgeries that I felt I paid my fair share of pain… But I am so happy when I hear of others who recover so quickly….! God is great, and his heal is why I still exist….!
    Armadillo Zack

  5. Meant to say his healing power…! Sorry….!

  6. Great Steve.. very good to hear..God bless you ..dd