MID-ISLAND TRIKE ADVENTURES IS NOW A TRIDENT DEALER


From reader Glen Aldridge:

* FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE* I am pleased to announce that *TRIKE ADVENTURES *located on Vancouver Island, BC Canada has been awarded a Trident Trikes Dealership. Our Business Model is designed to give Customers & Prospective Buyers the opportunity to spend a half or full day exploring our Central Vancouver Island area using one of Trident’s Trike Models. Using ‘On the Road’ Experience to showcase Trident’s offerings should allow new owners to find a model that best suits their needs. We are in the process of setting up our 2017 Tours & so far have the following:

From Nanaimo – The Pizza & Beer Tour From Parksville – The Wine & Cheese Tour From Parksville – The Chocolate & Ice Cream Tour From Qualicum Beach – The Rock & Roll Tour

Each Tour is 4-5 hours in duration & about 30 kms or less in length. They are designed for Beginner Trikers. Longer overnight trips are in the planning stages & will prove to be popular with more experienced Trikers.

Should you wish to be notified of tour start dates or be on our mailing list please visit: http://midislandtrikeadventures.weebly.com/

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on December 10, 2016, in tadpole trikes, trike dealers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Steve, I have been fighting off a bug that I picked up at the airport on my way home from Thailand 3 weeks ago so if I forgot to thank you for posting the Press Release please accept my apologies for not doing so. I feel like I am fighting off pneumonia so I am not as sharp as usual. As I have become a Trident dealer I was curious about your comments regarding the Spike & E Spike and would like to add some clarification. About 5 or 6 years ago I experienced the exact same problem with my Stowaway 11 using BB7’s. (May have been BB5’s at that time but it was the higher spec Stowaway 11) I was pretty new at trikes having only previously owned a Terra Trike Path which also had God Awful brakes. The problems with Disc Brakes had left me convinced that I never, ever wanted another trike with Disc Brakes & believed that this was another one of those marketing trends that didn’t quite meet the promises advertised. As it turns out the production of Avid Brakes had been moved to Taiwan & there were teething problems with the new manufacturing. At least that’s what I was told. When it came time to buy my next trike a few years later, a Trident Transport 20, Tom at Trident promised me the previous problems with Disc Brakes were no longer a concern. The Transport 20 came with BB7’s and this turned out to be true. A year ago I bought myself an HP Gekko which comes with BB5’s and this too has been essentially problem free except for some new brake rubbing during the first few weeks. I was concerned that my brake problems were starting up all over again until I came across a video with a little trick for setting the pads. Since the BB5’s only come with one adjustable brake pad, getting the pads centered on the rotor is the key to preventing brake rub. I won’t go into detail here about how it is done but the trick is to insert a piece of copy paper on either side of the rotor between the brake pads when you adjust & set up your calipers. Regarding the E Spike handlebars – unfortunately the photos on Tridents website don’t accurately depict the width from the side of the Spike. The closest I could come to finding you an accurate view was this video of the E Titan which uses the exact same handlebars & Electric Assist system. As you can see in the video the handlebars have forward & rearward as well as width adjustment built in so they do not stick out to the side of the trike unnecessarily once they are set properly for the rider. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2QVleNupng One other thing I would like to bring to your attention is the greatly improved build quality of the Trident Trikes. I would agree with you that a few years ago they really were & bargain basement product. Now using the Avid brakes, Schwalbe tires & Microshift components are only some of many improvements that have been made. Cheers, Glen

  2. I watched the video, but as far as the handlebars go I stand my ground. They still stick way out beyond the front tires and look to be awkward compared to those which are vertical and in further. I just don’t like handlebars like these. I don’t find them comfortable compared to the vertical type. With those handlebars I would frequently have issues with them as they would be too wide to pass thru places I ride and my hands would be subject to being smashed into various objects. Nope, I want my hands inside of the front tires.
    As to the BB5 brakes … I have centered the rotors in the calipers as you mentioned, but I still had nothing but problems with the BB5s almost on a daily basis. I think they are junk. The BB7s solved nearly every issue and I seldom have to do any adjustment to them.