HIGH TECH TRIKE OR LOW TECH CAR


 

velomobiles-lined-up-in-front-of-capital-bldg-in-d

recently came across an article about velomobiles which I found very interesting and well written so I am sharing a link to it HERE.

Here is the article’s opening paragraph:

Recumbent bikes with bodywork evoke a curious effect. They look as fast as a racing car or a jet fighter, but of course, they’re not. Nevertheless, thanks to the recumbent position, the minimal weight and the outstanding aerodynamics, pedaling a “velomobile” requires three to four times less energy than pedaling a normal bicycle.

The one thing I saw throughout the article which always bothers me when I come across it is their referring to a trike as a bike. That is like calling a truck a car … something very misleading and confusing. It is not at all “savvy”. I realize that there are velomobiles which are bikes (two wheels), but most are trikes (three wheels). Anyway, the article covers a lot of aspects of velomobiles and is informative.

oceancycle-velomobile-for-ice-cockpitt-view-looking-forward

Every time I see this picture it reminds me of sitting in a jet fighter looking forward thru the windshield. I bet the jet fighter cockpit is a lot more comfortable to ride inside of than a velomobile though.

view-from-cockpit-of-velomobile

Yes, once again I was having a little fun with photo editing. This is probably as close as I will ever get to looking thru the windshield of a velomobile … at least from the inside looking out. 😉

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on December 13, 2016, in motorized trikes, tadpole trikes, tandem trikes, velomobiles, videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I contacted some guy once from New Jersey about Velos, and I am sorry I even bothered…! But as far as Velo Mobiles go, I would not buy thru a US dealer or at least make sure that the U.S. dealer is even known by the manufacturer of the velo of your choice as there are some frauds out there who don’t even have licence by the manufacturer to sell the velo…! Velo’s are great little HPV’s with what I hope will become a great future in the US. The amount of energy they save is significant, and should be recognized for their contribution to the ecology as well keeping the average American in fitness.. Not like the roll that I have put on before I gotten back to riding again… It’s just one more way to travel and it is worth the effort to get one if you can afford the hefty price tag but after we see more of them on the road, as was the cell phone the price will come down…! Thanks for bring us this post Steve, it’s one of my favorite subjects…!
    Armadillo Zack