I DON’T NEED THERAPY … I JUST NEED TO RIDE MY TRIKE


dont-need-therapy

While viewing a Facebook page I came across some shirts being advertised for sale for recumbent trikers. They offer several different ones. One of them in particular caught my eye as I found it to be so applicable to me in my personal life. I am still going thru rehab physical therapy following my knee joint replacement surgeries. I wish I had one of these shirts to wear to the rehab therapy. I would like to see what kind of reaction I would get out of the staff there. Today is my 70th birthday and I have rehab in the morning. After today I have one more rehab session and I will be done. I will be glad when it is over as I can’t say that it is fun. I am not convinced that the rehab therapy was of all that much benefit and needed. Riding my tadpole trike is fun and I miss it. With winter upon us and arctic air making life pretty miserable trike riding isn’t happening. Did I mention that I miss riding my trike?

3-wheels-better-than-2

As I sit here in the warmth of my home it is 12 degrees F. outside with a wind chill factor of -2 degrees F. That is considerably warmer than it was when I first woke up this morning, but it is still way too cold for my liking. And it is not even winter yet … not officially anyway. Call me a wimp or whatever, but I find that the older I get the less motivated I am to go out riding in the winter time. Nowadays I much prefer to not go out riding if it is below about 35 degrees F. I used to go out riding when it was 20 degrees. The temperature is one thing … only one factor. Snow on the trail is quite another as I found that a tadpole trike won’t roll thru much snow. Unfortunately the trail I usually ride on (which is my favorite) is rarely ever plowed so riding on it is impossible.

I know some of you who read this blog don’t have to deal with ol’ man winter and can ride year around where you are at. And I know some of you live places where the winter weather is even worse than we have here in northern Indiana where I am at. And I know some of you are out riding thru the nasty winter weather. More power to you. You are a better man than me. 🙂

I reckon the goal for all of us is to do our best to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

C’mon April!

I want to go riding!

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on December 27, 2016, in clothing, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Neat t-shirts, but I gonna wait ’till next summer to buy one. Just too cold, even in northern Calif.

  2. Standard trikes don’t do snow well at all, as you mentioned, however, fatrikes frolic in the snow, and make the rider feel like a kid again! I am continually amazed at what my fatrike will do, and all the fun places it allows me to pedal. It has indeed transformed me into a wild and impulsive child once more! Snow? Fatrikes eat it up, making easy work of it. I’ll never look back.