NEW YEAR’S DAY RIDES


winter-tadpole-trike-ride

Would you believe that early this morning I had this article all written and when I clicked on the “Publish” button instead of it publishing it totally disappeared. All my effort was lost. Now I am starting all over. I was furious. I mean … “thanks a lot WordPress”. There wasn’t even a draft saved. I have no idea what happened, but it sure didn’t make my day. And it is only the first day of the new year. Well, here goes … starting all over again. Hopefully this time all will go well and work right.

Yes, it is New Year’s Day and many cyclists make it a tradition to go for a New Year’s Day ride. For those of us who live in a location that experiences winter weather it can be challenging to go out riding on January 1st. Some cyclists go out riding by themselves. Some go out riding with one or more friends. Still others go on an “organized ride” somewhere near where they live. Here where I live in Fort Wayne, Indiana we are fortunate enough to have an annual New Year’s Day Ride which is sponsored by the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation Dept. and cosponsored by a local bicycle club. 2017 is the 22nd year they have had it. I have gone on it two or three times in the past. There have been several years that it is just too nasty weather-wise to venture out. It is called the Chili Challenge Bicycle Tour. I reckon that is a play on words as it most certainly can be and usually is chilly (cold), but it is also named that because at the end of the ride there is homemade chili soup and some other food and drinks (hot chocolate, coffee, hot tea, cornbread, and sweets) served to the participants. The planned ride is a choice of either 15 miles or 25 miles and is mostly on city streets although some of it incorporates some of our local trails. Part way thru the ride they go to Johnny Appleseed Park to stop and watch those who choose to participate in the annual polar bear event where they wear bathing suits and take a dip in the icy cold water of the river. Personally I don’t think their elevators go all the way to the top floor. 🙂 There is also a similar ride for motorcyclists on New Year’s Day. They too make a pit stop at this park to watch this event. It ends up very crowded and unless you arrived early you can’t really get close enough to see much of anything. I usually just continue to ride and don’t even try to watch any of it. The ride is free, but helmets are required to participate.

winter-tadpole-trike-ride-2

The picture above is used with permission compliments of Ed Miller. I don’t think it was a New Year’s Day ride … just a ride on a fresh fallen snow.

Yes, many cyclists, myself included try to get in an annual ride on New Year’s Day. We make it a “tradition”. I have to admit though that the older I get the less I do it as I just don’t care to “fool with mother nature”. Below is a picture of one of my winter day’s ride I took many years ago. If fact, it is so long ago that I was riding my homemade tadpole trike. It must have been the winter of 2008-2009. It wasn’t a New Year’s Day ride however. As you can see there was not very much snow on the ground or trail. You can see my tire tracks from when I rode the opposite direction. And as you can see there was no one else making any kind of tracks out there other than my dog which I had along with me.

winter-ride-on-tadpole-trike-2

I have written before about how poorly a standard tadpole trike does riding thru snow. So if there is much snow on the ground it is quite impractical to attempt to participate in this annual event or even by one’s self as the trike just won’t roll thru much snow … especially if it is a wet heavy snow. There are alternatives ya’ know. Here is an example. You could mount a V-plow and just move that nasty snow out of your way. (You know I am kidding, don’t you? I just had a little fun with photo editing.)

v-plow-on-my-catrike-3

The Chili Challenge ride is over with by now so I won’t be going on it. I am not up to riding 15 miles yet anyway after getting my new knee joints installed. However, I do plan on going out yet today … probably as soon as I hit the “Publish” button and see this get published this time. If it doesn’t I will probably go back to bed. 🙂

Hey, let’s all …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on January 1, 2017, in riding, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on NEW YEAR’S DAY RIDES.

Comments are closed.