PRETTY AMAZING CYCLIST


don’t normally write anything about bicycles since this blog is about tadpole trikes. However, I am so impressed with this cyclist that I decided to share about him here as an “extra bonus”. This Frenchman, Robert Marchand, is 105 years old (maybe that should read “young”) and just recently set a new world record for his age group. Actually they had to make a new age group for him. He pedaled just over 14 miles in one hour attempting to beat his previous record. I couldn’t do that at half his age. All I can say is … “WOW !” Now he says he is waiting on a rival to compete against him. 🙂 Any takers? You can read about him HERE and HERE.  And here is the Wikipedia writeup.

Robert Marchand and his coach Gerard Mistler during his attempt to break his own world cycling record at the age of 105, taking part in a one-hour cycling event in the Masters + 100 category on January 4, 2017 in Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, France (Sipa via AP Images)

Robert Marchand during his attempt to break his own world cycling record at the age of 105, taking part in a one-hour cycling event in the Masters + 100 category on January 4, 2017 in Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, France (Sipa via AP Images)

He has my admiration. Now if we could just talk him into riding a tadpole trike while he is still around and able he could really have some fun and …

ENJOY THE RIDE!

(IN COMFORT)

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on January 15, 2017, in misc., news and interviews, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You are right to write about his accomplishments at his age and I also agree that he would enjoy a trike.. Maybe then he wouldn’t have such a pained look on his face.. I thoroughly enjoy your stories and read each and every one……Merida

    Sent from my iPad

    >