BIKE REGISTRATION THAT WORKS


I recently came across a website offering a free service to bicyclists (cyclists). It is called Bike Index. It sounds like a very good idea and hopefully it will catch on all around the nation. We can help accomplish this by using it ourselves and promoting it to others. The “others” include local bike shops and police depts. as it takes all of us together to make this work. This also provides a means of looking up bikes to see if they are reported stolen. This could be handy if you found a bike or are looking into buying one … making certain it is not stolen. Of course, you would need the serial number to look it up.

I know the local police here where I live come across lots of bicycles which never get reunited with their owners. They collect until they are auctioned off periodically. What a shame they don’t end up getting returned to their owners, but without the police having anyway to know who they belong to there isn’t much they can do. All they can do is store them in a room hoping the owner will come looking for it. When the room fills up with bikes they have no choice but to get rid of them. With this registration system that could change. So register that puppy!

I spotted Catrike, Challenge, Greenspeed, ICE, HP Velotecknik, Quest, Stein, Sun & TerraTrike listed to choose from on their drop down menu of cycle manufacturers. It is somewhat challenging to locate the manufacturer as the names are not all together in alphabetical order as one would expect. In fact, there doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to how they list the many names. And many of the names are not actually cycle manufacturers, but rather manufacturers of various cycle related products. All these added names make it all the harder to find a cycle manufacturer name listed among those they display. It is easy to miss names listed and so this may not be a complete list of the trike manufacturers. BTW, if your cycle manufacturer is not listed they instruct you to use OTHER.  Just type an “o” and Other will appear at the top of the list on the drop down menu. Definitely I think their drop down menu needs a lot of work to make it practical and easy to use. It makes no sense to have a cycle product manufacturer listed along with cycle manufacturers when they are asking you to select the manufacturer from their drop down list. I don’t think anybody has a WD-40 bike much less a tadpole trike, but that is one of the choices.

Once you have registered your cycle if it gets stolen you just login to this website to report it stolen so bike shops and police can look up stolen cycles reported on this website. Pretty nifty, huh?

BTW, I noticed that there were some registrations listed for Great Britain so apparently this goes beyond the United States. It may be open to any country, but I don’t know that to tell you so.

Here is what they state on their website:
The Bike Index makes stolen bikes harder to sell and easier to recover by making sure important information about your bike is there when you need it the most. The process is simple, secure, and free.

HOW IT WORKS

It’s simple: we offer an easy and efficient way to store and update important identifying information about your bike.

In the unfortunate event that your bike is stolen, you can harness the power of our network to help get it back. Registering with Bike Index ensures that law enforcement, bike shops, individuals, and everyone in between has the information they need to help reunite you with your bike.

Bike Index is the most widely used bicycle registration service in the world. We strive to be the best resource in the fight against bicycle theft.

******************

I have registered my tadpole trike including  color photos of it and the serial number on the frame. Unfortunately on older Catrikes the serial number was only on a decal which could be removed. Newer Catrikes have them engraved in the frame. I have a 2013 model which is the year Catrike started engraving the serial numbers, but my trike came with a decal and is not engraved. I think it is shameful on the part of any bicycle manufacturer to use decals instead of stamping or engraving the serial number into/onto the frame.

None of us want to experience our trikes being stolen, but if it happens we may very well be thankful that we registered our trikes while we had them and had the opportunity. It just might help us to be able to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on January 22, 2017, in misc., news and interviews, tadpole trikes, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you Steve and this information is great as I nearly paid $8,000.00 for my ride and it’s loss would come as a great hardship to me..! But let me tell you an interesting story about a brand new mountain bike, I can’t remember the brand at the moment, but here is the story.. One day before I had gotten my present Catrike custom, I was riding along on my golf cart from the local store which is only about a mile from my home, and I spotted this brand new sparkling green mountain bike.. You could see it was brand new it still had the stickers on the spokes…! Well I passed it by thinking some stupid kid was playing near by and would come back for it so I continued on my way after moving out of the way of the path so I could get by on my golf cart… I go to the store spending a considerable amount of time as I had to wait on line for my lottery tickets and I’m sure you know how long those lines can be…! Well I finally conclude my business at the store and I start heading for home, and I come across this bicycle again so I stopped to tell the kid or who ever owned this bike how crazy he was for just leaving it right there in the middle of the path where any one could come along and steal it on him and he would be out a bike if I had been a bad guy…! So I waited there almost an hour, and no one person went by or claimed the bike for that matter so I started to think the worst, and that it had maybe the bike of some kid who had been kidnapped or worse…! So I put the bike on the back of my golf cart as I didn’t have my cell phone with me to call the Sheriff’s office so I took it home with me leaving a note pinned to a tree in case the owner returned… I called the sheriff’s office as soon as I got home and they said they would send a car out to me to help…Well the sheriff comes to my house and I tell him the whole story and my fears and he acted as though it was no big deal and took all my information and put the bike in the back of his car and left … I never heard anything about the bike or it’s owner again so I called one day and was told the bike was going to be auctioned off at the next sheriff’s garage auction and no one had claimed the bike and no one called me or come to my home about it either, even after I left a note on the tree to tell the person where to find their bike and that I had called the sheriff’s office about it and they came and got it, this being the second note, and still no one ever contacted me… I would only hope that whoever had owned that bike was smart enough to copy the serial numbers down, and claimed it before it was auctioned.. Or that the sheriff had found it’s owner OK and just had forgotten the bike while at play or something… This would have helped that owner who ever they were to recover their ride as I would have wanted someone as honest as I to call the sheriff’s office and they found the serial number to belonging to my ride some where so they could return it to me…! It was a strange incidence but one I will never forget as it also scared me to think that it may have belonged to some child who had meet foul play or something along those lines, but believe me I have registered my ride with the sheriffs office, but I will also take advantage of this information as well and register it with them…! Thanks for bringing this to us, and I hope everyone who reads this uses it as well, as the more people who use it the more effective it shall become…!
    Armadillo Zack