DOES THIS TRIKE MAKE ME LOOK FAT?


fat-man

laughing-fat-buddha

We often hear/read that line about one thing or another making us look fat. Frequently it is meant to be funny. But, hey, being fat isn’t funny … nor is it fun. Those of us who are fat, especially obese, are our own worst enemy. I ought to know. I have been fat most of my adult life. I come from a family that are mostly overweight. This was mostly on my mom’s side of the family. I was always normal weight as a child. I weighed 140 pounds when I graduated from high school. I started gaining weight when I reached about 22 years of age. This was while I was in the Navy. It has been a battle ever sense … one which I have not done very well in winning. I have lost all my excess weight about 3 times, but always gained it right back and usually more. On one of my weight loss attempts I got down to 135 pounds. Here is a picture of me in the Navy before I started gaining weight. I think I was about 20 years old here. As you can see I was still normal weight. I didn’t usually wear coveralls, but I was on this occasion as I was about to work on a nasty job which could easily ruin my work uniform.

coveralls-1-sharpened

Although I am talking mainly about myself in this posting I want to address the subject of being overweight and exercise. I don’t think it is any secret that here in the United States we have a serious issue with obesity. Just looking at people in most any direction or place we see it. (It is pretty hard not to see it.) And the tadpole triking scene is no exception. In fact, it seems that the majority of tadpole riders have an issue with their weight. We turn to our trikes as a form of exercise in hope that we will lose weight. Some do, but many don’t. I am among those who haven’t done very well losing weight no matter how much riding I do (and I have done a lot). I have talked to others who have told me the same thing. I am sure most of us have heard the saying … Calories In, Calories Out. The bottom line here is simply that exercise alone is not enough. It is far more about what we eat and how much we eat. It takes a whole lot of riding to burn off the calories of unhealthy meals, snacks, soda pop, milkshakes, candy bars, etc. And most of us who are overweight do not eat healthy foods like we should.

burger-fries-shake-2

candy-bars  chocolate-cake-with-vanilla-ice-cream

I love cheeseburgers, french fries, chocolate milk shakes, candy (especially chocolate), ice cream, cakes and pies … you know … all the foods that taste so good but aren’t good for us. A few years ago I tried to go the vegetarian route. At first it was okay and I definitely lost weight eating nothing but vegetables, fruits and nuts (the foods God told us that He gave us to eat). However, it didn’t take long before I grew very tired and dissatisfied and longed for meats and other unhealthy foods again … foods that I have eaten all my life. So I went back to my old lifestyle and gained the weight right back. I had lost about 50 pounds eating “bible foods” and I felt great. The original foods God provided for man were grains, fruits, nuts, and vegetables. “They constitute the diet chosen for us by our Creator. These foods, prepared in as simple and natural a manner as possible, are the most healthful and nourishing. They impart a strength, a power of endurance, and a vigor of intellect, that are not afforded by a more complex and stimulating diet.”  (see Original Bible Diet)

Recently I lost 30 pounds after the knee joint replacement surgeries. I was encouraged and thinking I would be able to continue losing weight. However, it didn’t take long before I gained back 20 of those 30 pounds rather quickly. Recently I have lost 4 pounds, but it is a battle ground and I am not doing well at it. As much as I would like to, I can’t blame my trike. It is not what makes me look fat. When I point a finger at it I have 3 fingers pointing back at myself. Nope, it definitely is not my trike that makes me look fat. It is easy to try to put the blame somewhere … anywhere … rather than simply admit we like food and don’t discipline ourselves as we need to. I stand guilty. How about you? Yeah, I know. Now I am medlin’. Sorry!

steve-climbing-hill-2

As much as I love riding my trike I know I greatly limit myself being overweight. Hill climbing is where it is most obvious. Pedaling a lot of weight up a hill is slow going and makes it extra difficult. When I am riding with friends they don’t slow down nearly as much as I do. Yep, all that extra weight makes a huge difference. I often wonder how I would do if I weighed 140 pounds again. I would like to think I could out perform my friends I ride with. (And I am pretty sure I could.)

So what’s the problem you ask? Well, I lack the motivation and self discipline needed. I confess it. Shame on me. I have nobody or nothing to blame but myself. I certainly can’t blame my trike. It has done an amazing job hauling my fat carcass around all of these years. I have to sort of feel sorry for it because of all I put it thru. I just recently discovered that I have two more broken spokes on my left front wheel. I have had a lot of broken spokes and have come to the conclusion that most of this is probably the result of the load the wheels carry. Hard cornering with a fat tub aboard tends to break spokes.

Nope, my trike doesn’t make me look fat. I make me look fat. I acknowledge it. I am guilty. I really need to eat a salad for lunch and probably supper too. (And without any dressing on it!) ( … but a cheeseburger sounds so much better.)

eating-cheeseburger

Some riders have  FAT trikes while some trikes have FAT riders. Hmmm, another fact of life. Well, fat, normal or thin … do your best to …

ENJOY THE RIDE!

and don’t believe the saying “Thin may be in, but fat is where it’s at”

It’s a lie!

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on April 4, 2017, in misc., tadpole riders, tadpole trikes, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. armadillozack

    I’ll belly up to this conversation…! In the last 10yrs. I have put on weight, first not really realizing that I was doing it, but then it was like a fire in a wind storm, and it just took off.. I had a bad accident where I was injured on the job, and had to retire early in life as I would have to have a series of surgeries, some in which I still go through now… I was in pretty good shape earlier in life, and only after my accident where I was incapacitated, and was in a bed for almost a year and a half, did I ever really put on the pounds.. Then after I started to go up, and down with my weight uncontrollably I’m not a junk food junkie, and never really have been… I can’t say that I didn’t ever eat any burgers on the road from one city, or another, or where ever business has taken me… But never habitually…! I would much rather sit down to a nice steak, fish, or poultry dinner instead…! But I know that latter in life we need to watch what we eat as we slow down some, and only natural as we get older and retain some weight… So as soon as it got serious, and by mention of my doctor, I took up riding a bike again, but because of my many disabilities I was unable to control a regular bike, and it is when my doctor told me about recumbent trikes, as he rides one himself.. Since then it has been a god send, and by riding my trike I am starting to back down the numbers ladder of weight again, or at least I have more control with diet, and riding together, giving me a chance to stably control of my weight… I know I will never be that ultimate trim figure I once had been, but at least I will not be tipping the scales… It’s all about good judgement now, and remembering that I need to control my intake of calories, and maintain control over fat I burn on my trike, as well as walk and other exercise to maintain a good healthy body….

  2. You are reading my mail Steve. Thanks for the challenge, need to get back on the wagon and get back to “playing weight”.

  3. Whenever I have felt called to assist my Christian friends with health and fitness issues, I have always shared inspirational 1Corinthians 6:19-20 from the Bible, which states: “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.”