POOH POOH ON POO POO


stepping-on-dog-poop

While out on a ride recently I noticed (could not help but notice) lots of dog and goose poop on the trail. Now I understand that wild animals are going to do this and there isn’t much we can do about it. We just have to deal with it. The matter of dogs comes down to their owners. The dogs may not know better, but their owners certainly do. They just don’t care. Sadly there doesn’t appear to be much we can do about it either. Yes, I know … S H _ T HAPPENS!

dog-cleaning-up-poop

We can’t expect the dog to clean up after themselves, but dog owners are required by law to do so as does common decency.

clean-up-after-your-dog

I said it is not the dog’s fault and this is true. However, they can be taught where they should and should not go to the toilet. Here is an example of a well trained dog who knows where it is appropriate to relieve himself: Then again, dogs are generally  more savvy than lots of people.

dog-poop-obama

And another one:

dog-urinating-in-commode

dog-poop-on-bike-tire

This much I know … it ain’t good to ride thru poop. And unfortunately it is rare to see anybody make any effort to get it off of the trails. I spent a third of my time riding today removing poop from off of the trail. It is really aggravating as this should not be happening. What is wrong with people that they do this? I wasn’t raised that way. I find it hard to believe that people can be so low and irresponsible. Yet it seems to be all too commonplace. Nobody wants to walk along stepping in dog poop or riding thru it on a cycle. It is challenging enough to avoid riding over dog poop on a bicycle. With a tadpole trike it is even more difficult to avoid as we have three different tracking wheels and our trikes being wider we don’t always have the space to maneuver as we really need to.

scoop-the-poop-sign

In addition to the fact that it is quite unpleasant to step on or ride over dog poop it is illegal for dog owners to allow a dog to poop outdoors and then not clean up after them. I have said it before, but I would like to see these dog owners faces shoved down into their dog’s pile of poop.

Well, now I went and did it. I unloaded here. I feel better now. So I say pooh pooh on poo poo. Without it it is much easier to …

ENJOY THE RIDE!

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on April 21, 2017, in misc., tadpole trikes, trails, Uncategorized, videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I hope that includes horses too. Can’t wait to see those bags being hauled away.

  2. Sounds like a pretty shitty situation to me there Steve, isn’t there anyone like park police , rangers, or Sheriff’s deputies who patrols the trail looking out for bad guys or the offenders in question…? I know here you would get a ticket if you didn’t pick up, or scoop the poop…! I can understand your problem, and wonder what someone would do if heading to the beach and they stepped in some poop.. I would be really pissed off about this shitty experience, if it were I who had stepped, driven, or road over it that’s for sure…! How about whom ever maintains this particular trail, can’t you get them to hang some signs or something…?
    Armadillo Zack

  3. No, no police or anyone else patrols the trails here. There are signs up and it is in the written rules of the trails, but people like this pay no attention to trails rules. It is also the state law, but again it means nothing to such people.

  4. Timothy Gillane

    One possible issue on our “local” rail trail (it goes across at least a third of CT): it’s also open to horseback riding. I like horses, and think it’s a very good venue for horseback riding, but there is the issue of horse manure. I doubt that we can expect riders to pick up after their horses; moreover, I don’t know enough about horseback riding to know whether a rider can sense when a horse is about to do its business (and thus to move to the side of the trail). The local equine group is great about helping to open up and maintain some trails, so they can’t be faulted, plus the towns around here are pretty agricultural, and ou have to accept some of the by-product. At least it’s usually big enough to see.

  5. Steve, is this blog about religion, politics, or trikes? The first two aren’t working so well. As poop goes, I get enough juvenile right-wing (and left) crap on my facebook feed, no need to pile it on here. Keep it on topic please.

Leave a Reply

