NEW HEAD REST TO SAVE MY NECK


Recently I had a Bionx hub motor conversion kit installed on my Catrike Trail. In doing so I had to give up my super comfortable head rest which I made. I have neck issues so I need to use a neck/head rest when I ride. The reason I could not continue using my head rest is because it was in the way of plugging the cable into the front of the battery. So I purchased an ICE neck rest which mounts out of the way. Now ICE boasts that their newly designed neck rest is the most comfortable neck rest on the market. As far as I am concerned it is just like all the rest of the factory manufactured neck rests I have tried … very lacking and not very comfortable.  So I went to work to redesign it.  What I came up with was far more comfortable than theirs yet it still looked pretty like it did originally. Still it was not to my satisfaction nor my needs. So I went to work to totally remake it. It didn’t take me more than 20 minutes and now I have a very comfortable head rest again. It is not quite as comfortable as what I had previously but only because it is a bit smaller in size. And the good news is I didn’t do anything to change what ICE made. In 5 minutes I could put the neckrest back to the way it came from ICE (not that I would want to). I just don’t understand why the trike industry doesn’t offer comfortable neck rests. It is not that hard to make one that is comfortable. Like I said it took me about 20 minutes. I replaced ICE’s strap with elastic and put a piece of foam sandwiched in between it. Then I put a large piece of foam on the front side of the elastic. The large piece of foam has the front side of it cut concave to sort of cradle the head and neck. Here is what I came up with. I just used the cover off of my old head rest even though it is too big.

For  those who are interested here are some pictures showing the construction of my new head rest. (I am calling it a head rest rather than a neck rest because I have raised it up higher to where the back of my head rests on it. It is far more comfortable now against my head than it was against my neck.)

In the next picture I have duct tape temporarily holding the foam in place while the Gorilla Glue sets up. The foam is glued to the elastic.

In the next picture  which is a top view looking down you can see the concave curvature I cut into the foam to cradle my head and make the head rest more comfortable to use.

And here is what the original ICE neck rest looks like. I really don’t like the metal rods on the sides as they are located right where the head makes contact with them. And that is not very comfortable as I quickly found out when I tried riding using it. It is really dumb … more of their infamous “inspired cycle engineering”.

 

 

Now with this new head rest I should be able to ride in comfort meaning I can …

ENJOY THE RIDE!

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on May 12, 2017, in accessories, rider comfort, tadpole trikes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. armadillozack

    Hay Steve you hit the nail right on the head with this post Buddy…! I have been wondering if I could have made a better choice in head and neck rests back when I first ordered my ride.. You see when I ordered my custom catrike converted into a quad, I had the option of going with Utah Trike’s head and neck rest, as it was already an option that my ride came with, and by going with the Catrike’s version I had paid extra for it…! Now their neck or head rest is a piece of closed cell black foam rubber shape like an hourglass turned on it’s side, and mounted on a “S” shaped bar which mounts to the back, or top tube of your seat.. It looks very bulky, or unsightly, but I would think it offers a lot better comfort in it’s simple design.. But that is only an opinion, as I have never had the pleasure of trying one out…! But thanks for bring the topic up, and who knows maybe someone reading this post will design the better neck or head rest…!
    Armadillo Zack

  2. Oh oh Steve, you’ve compromised your Catrike with a competitor’s accessory, haha. The reason those vertical rods in the ICE neckrest are as close as they are is that this is not intended to be a headrest, but rather a neckrest. You are correct that if a trike manufacturer were to design a headrest, the spacing would need to be widened over what trike companies now use. I have found that unless the neckrest is adjusted to contact my neck, my helmet comes in contact with it, which, as you can imagine, doesn’t work at all. If I did not wear a helmet, this would be a non-issue. I think the reasoning behind providing neckrests instead of headrests for trikers is because probably most trike pilots wear helmets, thus the need for neck support, as the head is in the helmet and cannot come in contact with the rest surface.

    • I first tried using the ICE neckrest as a neckrest having it positioned exactly where they instruct it to be. The rods were an issue even then. Maybe if a very young child were using it it might work okay for a very small head.

  3. Ahoy There, Steve, glad to hear you’ve set yourself up with a BionX power unit. Now you can move yourself along a few miles per hour faster. Great when the knees start to present a problem. In a year or so the trike will seem like a lot lighter trike to pedal. I use a 48 volt battery and with peddling can do easily 30 miles.

  4. Quite interesting Steve! I see that my accessory list grows almost every time I read your blog post and I haven’t even picked up my trike yet! Thanks for your posts – they are interesting and well written.
    trikebiker (Don M., Sunset Beach, NC)

Leave a Reply

