BLINDED BY THE LIGHT


They got the title right …

I came across this video and immediately had to agree with the title … Blinded By The Light. There is definitely a whole bunch of lights there. I assume they own a battery manufacturing company. That top light must be to warn low flying aircraft. 🙂 If I were a car or truck driver coming up behind this I wouldn’t know what to do … probably need to find another route. 🙂 I believe in good lighting, but this is definitely an overkill to the point I would think it would upset others who have to deal with it. I don’t know what their purpose is in having all these lights, but hopefully they don’t ride this around other people at night with these lights turned on .

I won’t even use my bright flashing taillight at nighttime around other people as it would be blinding and offensive to those behind me. Defensive is the goal … not offensive. This next video is of my trike after dark where there is total darkness and no one else around. I have 4 taillights flashing, but one of them is so much brighter than the other three. The other three are plenty bright to be seen quite well at night. The extremely bright one is just too much. As bright as the other 3 taillights are this super bright one prevents the other three from being seen. It is great in the day time, but at night time I would never use it around other people. I would use 2 or 3 of the others and probably only have one taillight flashing and the other(s) turned on steady (no blinking).

Our headlights can also be “too much” Here is my trike with  maximum lumens in use. I would not think of riding around like this in the daytime much less at night. I would only use it when by myself and in need of good lighting to see where I am going (at night time, of course.) Too bright of a headlight can quite literally blind those in front of you so that they can’t see some of what is in front of them. This could easily result in an accident and even someone’s death.

And that is only 350 lumen. There are people out there with several thousand lumen lighting. Let’s all be safe but respectful of others. We all want to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on May 19, 2017, in accessories, safety, tadpole trikes, videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. might want to check out a youtube video called tennesee travlin’ trike….

  2. armadillozack

    II feel as you do, I don’t want to blind the traffic coming in my direction, But I am very worried when the traffic is coming from behind me, that I pour on the lights.. I have a bunch of flashing lights that don’t blind the driver coming from behind me, But he or she sure the hell can not say that he didn’t see me in front of them…! I have 2 what is called Arizona whips for my flags during the day, but at night it lights up red, white, and blue and is what they call chasing lights where they run in a pattern blinking red, white and blue… I also have marker lights, and more chasing red, white and blue lights independent to my flashing whip.. I was asked by a Sheriff’s Deputy once if I felt I had enough lights on the back, I said I was getting there, and his answer was good , and that he didn’t have to worry about me going down the road at night… LoL…! I don’t know if I will ever have enough lights on my rear when riding at night, but at least I’m am not as worried any more….

Leave a Reply

