50 MPH E-TRIKE


Matt Shumaker used a KMX Typhoon tadpole trike modifiying it considerably, especially the frame, to create this powerful monster. There is no doubt about it … he achieved his goal in making a strong frame.

https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15634

https://www.electricbike.com/50mph-monster-electric-trike/

 

He lowered the frame 3/4 of an inch and also widened the frame 5 inches and lengthened it 3 inches to accommadate the motor and increase the handling of the trike. With two 15 hp (11,000 watt) motors powering it these modifications are a very good idea. Matt says it will accelerate from zero to forty in 4.5 seconds! That would indeed be exhilarating.

It sounds like a jet airplane going by. He says he has about $6,000 invested in it plus about 200 hours of time. He values it at about $9000. It is all wheel drive with motors for the front wheels and motors for the rear wheel. The trike does have pedals in case they are needed. The trike weighs about 90 pounds so pedaling it isn’t something one would want to do if they didn’t have to.
Matt reports that the range is about 35 – 45* miles on a charge which is a whole lot more than my 80 mile rated BionX battery gets. I am only getting about 20 miles using 80 % of a full charge on my BionX unit … not very impressive. Of course, this is a massive battery in comparison to what I have. (* one place I read 35 if it is babied and another place I read 45 with no remark about babying it.)

With all that power and speed it requires some hefty brakes. He used 203mm Hope 4 piston hydraulic brakes.

Matt reports that he sold this trike for $7500 with only one motor as he removed one.

 

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on November 14, 2017, in motorized trikes, tadpole trikes, videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. About 2yrs. ago, right around the time I had gotten my Custom Bent Quad from the good folks at UtahTrike.com I contacted Mr. Shumaker in order to obtain a system for my quad, and after the conversation I thought everything was a go all I was going to need was the motors, and making my own battery packs to run the motors.. I waited for Mr. Shumaker, for some time, but never heard from him again.. I can only think that there was something he had to do first or something went wrong with his business.. Well whatever the reason he did not return contact, I hope it was nothing serious, and is still creating fine motors and transmissions for the now big E-Ride industry.. This man has a true talent, and I hope he does great in any of his endeavors…

Leave a Reply

